You are here

Back to top

2018 CAF Awards: Who wins what in African football?

Tuesday, 8 January 2019

2018 CAF Awards: Who wins what in African football?

APRNEWS - Africa’s annual football awards night takes place in the Senegalese capital Dakar on January 8, 2019.

The continent’s football governing body, the Confederation of African Football, CAF, will be awarding the best personalities, clubs and national teams for the year 2018.

The event is being held at the Abdou Diouf International Conference Center. Ahead of the event, CAF Executive Committee has awarded the hosting rights for 2019 AFCON to Egypt.

The main award of the night will pit the same nominees as 2017 – Egypt’s Mohamed Salah, Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Gabon’s Pierre Emerick Aubameyang.

Salah is widely tipped to retain the crown he won for the first time last year. Mane who placed third in 2016 and second in 2017 will hope to win it for 2018.

Women’s Player of the Year Award
Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala is hoping to score a fourth win after her first three victories in 2014, 2016, and 2017.
Nigeria’s Francisca Ordega will be looking to snatch it from Oshoala.
South African striker, Kgatlana, 22, Best Player of 2018 AWCON is the final nominee in contention.

Others award categories
Youth Player of the Year
Men’s Coach of the Year
Women’s Coach of the Year
Men’s National Team of the Year
Women’s National Team of the Year
Goal of the Year
Africa Finest XI,
Ydnekatchew Tessema Trophy for the Federation President of the Year and
Platinum Award

With Africanews